August 14, 2014 In Events & Seminars, Legal Updates
Florida’s Minimum Wage to Increase on January 1, 2012
Florida’s minimum wage is currently $7.31 per hour, effective June 1, 2011. Beginning January 1, 2012, Florida’s minimum wage will be $7.67 per hour, which is a 4.9% (or $0.36) increase from last year due to the change in the Consumer Price Index.
Employers of “tipped employees” who meet eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) may count tips actually received as wages under the FLSA. However, the employer must pay “tipped employees” a direct wage. Effective January 1, 2012, the new minimum wage for tipped employees should become $4.65 per hour plus tips.