Title Image

News Alert…Opportunity to Extend Permits in 51 Counties due to Tropical Storm Hermine

News Alert…Opportunity to Extend Permits in 51 Counties due to Tropical Storm Hermine

Section 252.363(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that certain qualifying permits and authorizations are eligible for an extension once a State of Emergency is declared for the length of time the declaration is in effect plus an additional six (6) months.  A written request for such an extension must be submitted to the authorizing agency within 90 days after the State of Emergency has expired. § 252.363(1)(b), Florida Statutes.

On August 31, 2016, the Governor issued Executive Order No. 16-205, declaring a 60 day State of Emergency due to the threat posed by Tropical Storm Hermine in Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Calhoun, Citrus, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hernando, Hillsborough, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Marion, Nassau, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia, and Wakulla Counties.  Later that same day, the Governor also issued Executive Order No. 16-206, expanding the State of Emergency to include Escambia, Holmes, Manatee, Okaloosa, Osceola, Santa Rosa, Sarasota, Walton, and Washington Counties.

Applicants wishing to extend their permit in one of these counties for a total of 6 months and 60 days under Executive Order Nos. 16-205 and 206 must submit a written request to the authorizing agency by January 28, 2017, unless the executive orders are extended beyond the original 60 days.

If you are a permit holder in one of the counties listed above and believe you may be eligible for an extension under Executive Order Nos. 16-205 and 206, please do not hesitate to contact an attorney in our Land Use and Local Government or Environmental and Water practice groups.